Help Scout Pricing
- Support pricing
- $25/mo at the smallest
Help Scout pricing starts at $25 a month, which is $300 over twelve months. There is no free plan, but there is a trial: 15 days.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 20 August 2026.
Help Scout pricing at a glance
| Entry price | Standard from $25 per user/month billed annually |
|---|---|
| Smallest invoice | $25 a month, or $300 a year |
| How that is reached | Standard at $25 a month |
| Seat minimum | None on the entry plan |
| Free plan | No |
| Free trial | 15 days |
| How it charges | subscription |
| Prices read from | The vendor's own pricing page |
| Last checked | 20 August 2026 |
Every Help Scout plan and what it costs
Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 20 August 2026. Charged as subscription. Free trial: 15 days.
| Plan | Price | Billing | What it is |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $25 | per month | per user, billed annually - $25 is the annual rate; the page's toggle advertises 16% off annual. Two inboxes, live chat and SMS, WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger, multiple knowledge bases, one basic SLA policy, basic workflows and the AI inbox assistant |
| Plus | $45 | per month | per user, billed annually - Five inboxes, advanced workflows, two advanced SLA policies, a secure customer portal, unlimited AI Drafts, round-robin routing and Salesforce, Jira and HubSpot integrations |
| Pro | $75 | per month | per user, billed annually - Ten inboxes, plus enterprise security, HIPAA support and a dedicated account manager |
| Additional inboxes Add-on | $10 | per month | Each, beyond the two, five or ten included by tier |
| Additional knowledge base sites Add-on | $20 | per month | Each, beyond the two or three included by tier |
| AI Answers | From $0.75 | per usage | Per resolution, billed monthly on top of the plan |
What Help Scout costs beyond the advertised price
Each of these is a figure you can check on the vendor's own page. The arithmetic is shown so you can redo it rather than take our word for it.
- Charged on top of a plan$240 a year
Additional knowledge base sites is charged on top of a plan rather than instead of one: $20 a month, which is $240 a year on top of whichever tier you hold.
Working$20 a month x 12 = $240 a year, added to a tier price rather than replacing it.
Computed from the plan table on Help Scout pricing , read 20 August 2026
- Charged on top of a plan$120 a year
Additional inboxes is charged on top of a plan rather than instead of one: $10 a month, which is $120 a year on top of whichever tier you hold.
Working$10 a month x 12 = $120 a year, added to a tier price rather than replacing it.
Computed from the plan table on Help Scout pricing , read 20 August 2026
Fixed mechanics above add $360 a year to the advertised price. Usage-dependent charges are listed but not summed, because a figure that depends on how much you use cannot be added to one that does not.
What Help Scout actually costs over a year
A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.
| Plan | Quoted | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standardper user, billed annually | per month | $25 | $300 |
| Plusper user, billed annually | per month | $45 | $540 |
| Proper user, billed annually | per month | $75 | $900 |
| Additional inboxes add-on | per month | $10 | $120 |
| Additional knowledge base sites add-on | per month | $20 | $240 |
Cancelling Help Scout, and getting money back
Read from the published Help Scout terms on 18 September 2026. These are the terms, not legal advice: consumer law where you live may give you rights the terms do not mention.
| Refund window | 30 days |
|---|---|
| When you cancel | You can end the agreement at any time from the plan page. A service plan otherwise renews automatically for a period equal to the initial term unless either side gives 30 days' written notice. |
| Changing mid-term | The 30-day money-back guarantee runs from the first payment and covers both monthly and annual subscriptions. Outside it there are no refunds or credits for partial months, for annual payments, or for months left unused on an open account. |
Help Scout terms of service ↗ · read 18 September 2026
Help Scout pricing over time
Read from 19 archived captures of the vendor's pricing page , spanning January 2019 to September 2026. Every figure below links to the capture it came from, so you can check it against the page as it stood on the day.
- Plus changed 2 times between 14 January 2022 and 7 September 2026, from $35 per user to $45 per user, up 28.6% overall.
- Pro changed once between 16 February 2023 and 7 September 2026, from $65 per user to $75 per user, up 15.4% overall.
- Standard changed once between 14 January 2022 and 7 September 2026, from $20 per user to $25 per user, up 25% overall.
- AI Answers has been published at $0.75 in every capture we read, from 14 December 2025 to 7 September 2026.
Plus
Pro
Standard
AI Answers
| Published price | Charged | Seen from | Last seen | Capture |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $0.75 | Not stated | 14 December 2025 | 7 September 2026 | Archive |
4 archived captures with no price we could read
The capture exists, but the figures on it could not be extracted - usually a page that renders prices in JavaScript, or a currency selector the archive did not record. Listed rather than dropped, because a gap in a price history reads as "nothing changed" and these are not that.
- 29 January 2019 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
- 26 April 2020 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
- 7 February 2021 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
- 16 February 2025 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
Compiled 18 September 2026 from the Internet Archive Wayback Machine. Plan names were matched against the archived page text and the first currency-anchored figure within 160 characters was recorded, rejecting any figure with a competing plan name standing between it and the name it was matched to. The currency and the unit were read from each capture rather than assumed: captures served in a currency other than $, and captures where no plan name sat beside a figure, are listed as unread rather than dropped. Archived pages show the price as served to the archive's crawler, which may differ by region from the price you are shown.
Help Scout pricing against its competitors
Compared on the smallest invoice each vendor will accept, not on the advertised per-seat rate. Where a product has a seat minimum, the figure below is the minimum times the rate, because that is the cheque you would actually write.
| Product | Cheapest paid entry | Free plan | Against Help Scout |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zendesk | $19 a month | No | −$6 a month (−24%) |
| Freshdesk | $19 a month | No | −$6 a month (−24%) |
| Help Scout | $25 a month | No | This product |
| Intercom | $29 a month | No | +$4 a month (+16%) |
Which Help Scout plan should you buy?
| Your situation | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You are replacing a shared Gmail inbox | Standard | $25 per user for shared inboxes, knowledge base and chat. This is the tier Help Scout is designed around. |
| You need custom fields and Salesforce integration | Plus | $45 per user, bought for data structure rather than for support features. |
| You need HIPAA support or enterprise security review | Pro | $75 per user, and generally a compliance requirement rather than a support one. |
| You want AI deflection | Budget AI Answers separately | From $0.75 per resolution on top of the plan, so cost follows volume rather than seats. |
| You need SLA management and complex routing | Consider Zendesk or Freshdesk instead | Help Scout deliberately keeps routing simple, which is a limit as you scale. |
The design decision that defines it
Most help desks send replies that look like they came from a system: a ticket reference in the subject, a signature block, a portal link and a warning not to reply below the line. Help Scout sends an email. The customer sees a message from a person, and replying works the way replying always works.
For a company whose support is part of its product experience, that difference is the entire reason to choose it, and it does not appear on any feature comparison.
It is priced above its feature set, deliberately
Standard is $25 per user per month. Freshdesk Growth is $19 and includes more: more channels, more automation, more reporting. If you build a comparison table, Help Scout loses.
The honest case for paying more is that you are buying restraint. There is less to configure, less for the team to learn, and less opportunity to make support feel bureaucratic. Whether that is worth $6 per user per month is a judgement about your company rather than about software.
Where it stops being enough
Three signals that you have outgrown it: you need skills-based routing to get the right issue to the right specialist; you need SLA tracking with escalation; or you need reporting cuts the built-in dashboards cannot produce. All three point at Zendesk, and none of them arrive until support is a department rather than a rota.
AI Answers, priced sensibly
AI Answers costs from $0.75 per resolution on top of the plan. Compared with per-seat AI add-ons elsewhere, notably Freshdesk’s $29 per agent, this suits a small team far better: you pay for deflection you actually get rather than capacity you might use.
Help Scout questions, answered
- Does Help Scout have a free plan or free trial?
- Help Scout has no free plan. A free trial is available: 15 days.
- Can I self-host Help Scout?
- No. Help Scout is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 20 August 2026.
What this profile is based on
Nobody here has used Help Scout. This profile is desk research: prices read from the pages cited below, on the dates shown , from one primary source , with 2 captures taken by us . How we research a profile.
Desk research from Help Scout's own pricing page, read on 20 August 2026 through a United States egress. The billing basis was established by inspecting which toggle carried the active state in the rendered page, because "$25 per user/mo" beside a "-16%" annual badge does not say which period it is. Nobody here has answered a customer in Help Scout, and the claim that it feels more human than a ticket queue is a judgement about its design rather than a measurement.
Where Help Scout appears on this site
- Another profile Chatwoot names it as a competitor
- Another profile FreeScout names it as a competitor
- Another profile Front names it as a competitor
Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.
Provenance and freshness
Individually sourced claims
-
Standard is $25 a user a month, Plus $45 and Pro $75, with the page's annual toggle active and advertising 16% off annual billing
Help Scout pricing ↗ · checked
-
Standard includes live chat, SMS, WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger, multiple knowledge bases, one basic SLA policy and the AI inbox assistant
Help Scout pricing ↗ · checked
-
Inboxes are capped by tier at two, five and ten, with additional inboxes at $10 a month and additional knowledge base sites at $20 a month
Help Scout pricing comparison table ↗ · checked
-
AI Answers is charged at $0.75 per resolution, billed monthly on top of the plan
Help Scout pricing ↗ · checked
What has changed
-
August 2026
- Prices re-read and unchanged - Standard $25, Plus $45, Pro $75 a user a month
- Established that those are the annual rates by reading the toggle state, and recorded the 16% annual discount the page advertises
- Recorded the per-tier inbox caps and the $10 and $20 add-on prices for extra inboxes and sites
-
August 2026
- Per-user pricing verified, including per-resolution AI Answers pricing
- Added plan picker and verdicts
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Help Scout pricing - checked 20 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email contact@everyany.one and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.