Xero Pricing
- Finance pricing
- $25/mo at the smallest
Xero pricing starts at $25 a month, which is $300 over twelve months. There is no free plan, but there is a trial: 30 days, or 90% off for six months for new US customers who buy by 30 September 2026.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 19 August 2026.
Xero pricing at a glance
| Entry price | Early from $25/month, rising to $27 on 1 October 2026 |
|---|---|
| Smallest invoice | $25 a month, or $300 a year |
| How that is reached | Early at $25 a month |
| Seat minimum | None on the entry plan |
| Free plan | No |
| Free trial | 30 days, or 90% off for six months for new US customers who buy by 30 September 2026 |
| How it charges | subscription |
| Prices read from | The vendor's own pricing page |
| Last checked | 19 August 2026 |
Every Xero plan and what it costs
Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 19 August 2026. Charged as subscription. Free trial: 30 days, or 90% off for six months for new US customers who buy by 30 September 2026.
| Plan | Price | Billing | What it is |
|---|---|---|---|
| Early | $25 | per month | Unlimited users - Limited to 20 invoices and 5 bills a month, and a 30-day cash-flow forecast. Rising to $27 on 1 October 2026 |
| Growing | $55 | per month | Unlimited users - Unlimited invoices and bills, auto-reconciliation, custom dashboards and a 60-day forecast. Rising to $59 on 1 October 2026 |
| Established | $90 | per month | Unlimited users - Adds multi-currency, project time and costs, expense claims and a 180-day forecast. Rising to $97 on 1 October 2026 |
| Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto Add-on | $36 | per month | Plus $6 per employee or contractor a month. Optional on every plan |
| Inventory Plus Add-on | Not disclosed | Negotiated | Listed as optional on Growing and Established, with no figure on the pricing page |
What Xero costs beyond the advertised price
Each of these is a figure you can check on the vendor's own page. The arithmetic is shown so you can redo it rather than take our word for it.
- Charged on top of a plan$432 a year
Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto is charged on top of a plan rather than instead of one: $36 a month, which is $432 a year on top of whichever tier you hold.
Working$36 a month x 12 = $432 a year, added to a tier price rather than replacing it.
Computed from the plan table on Xero pricing plans , read 19 August 2026
What Xero actually costs over a year
A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.
| Plan | Quoted | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| EarlyUnlimited users | per month | $25 | $300 |
| GrowingUnlimited users | per month | $55 | $660 |
| EstablishedUnlimited users | per month | $90 | $1,080 |
| Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto add-on | per month | $36 | $432 |
Cancelling Xero, and getting money back
Read from the published Xero terms on 18 September 2026. These are the terms, not legal advice: consumer law where you live may give you rights the terms do not mention.
| When you cancel | A one-month cancellation notice period applies and you are billed through it whether or not you use Xero. Everyone keeps access during that month, which is the window to export. |
|---|---|
| Changing mid-term | There is no read-only plan: the way to keep access cheaply is to downgrade. A subscription bought through the App Store or Google Play has to be cancelled in the mobile app. |
| Your data afterwards | A cancelled subscription can be reactivated for as long as the regional data retention period lasts. If it is still cancelled when that ends the data is permanently deleted and a new organisation is the only way back. |
Xero Central, cancel a subscription ↗ · read 18 September 2026
Xero pricing against its competitors
Compared on the smallest invoice each vendor will accept, not on the advertised per-seat rate. Where a product has a seat minimum, the figure below is the minimum times the rate, because that is the cheque you would actually write.
| Product | Cheapest paid entry | Free plan | Against Xero |
|---|---|---|---|
| Xero | $25 a month | No | This product |
| QuickBooks Online | $38 a month | Yes | +$13 a month (+52%) |
Which Xero plan should you buy?
| Your situation | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You issue very few invoices | Early | $25 a month, capped at 20 invoices and 5 bills. That cap catches people out, so count first. |
| You invoice regularly | Growing | $55 a month with unlimited invoices and bills. The working tier for most businesses. |
| You trade in several currencies or track projects | Established | $90 a month, adding multi-currency, expenses and project tracking. |
| You have several people needing access | Any tier | Unlimited users are included on every plan, which is the main structural advantage over QuickBooks and FreshBooks. |
| You are a US business with a US accountant | Consider QuickBooks Online instead | Accountant familiarity in the US is a real cost saving. |
| You only need invoicing | Consider Wave instead | Free, and adequate if you never need more. |
Unlimited users is the real differentiator
Every Xero plan permits unlimited users with role-based permissions. Compare that with QuickBooks Online, where Simple Start is one user and Essentials is three, and the comparison changes shape. A business with an owner, a bookkeeper, an office manager and an external accountant pays nothing extra on Xero and upgrades twice on QuickBooks.
The Early plan trap
Early is $25 a month and capped at 20 invoices and 5 bills per month. That sounds workable and usually is not: a business invoicing weekly across a handful of clients passes it quickly, and bills accumulate faster still. Treat Growing at $55 a month as the realistic starting price unless you genuinely invoice a handful of times a month.
Geography decides more than features
In the UK, Australia, New Zealand and much of Europe, Xero is the default and accountants expect it. In the US, QuickBooks holds that position, and handing a Xero file to an American accountant creates friction that no feature advantage overcomes. Ask your accountant before choosing, because their familiarity is worth more than any comparison table.
The advertised price is neither the list price nor next year’s
Two dated facts sat behind Xero’s price card when we read it on 20 August 2026, and they point in opposite directions.
The discount. New US customers got 90% off for six months, so Early showed $2.50 a month, Growing $5.50 and Established $9 a month. The offer terms carried a deadline - 30 September 2026 at 11:59pm UTC, US only, one organisation, code DC90626308US - and stated that the discount does not apply to add-ons, usage or payment fees.
The rise. Xero has published a US price increase effective 1 October 2026:
| Plan | Before 1 October 2026 | From 1 October 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Early | $25 a month | $27 a month |
| Growing | $55 a month | $59 a month |
| Established | $90 a month | $97 a month |
It applies to existing subscribers as well as new ones, and the same page says the multi-organisation discount begins to be phased out from that date.
Which figure applies to you depends on when you are reading this. The plan table on this page holds the left-hand column, because that is what we verified on 20 August 2026. If you are reading after 1 October, the right-hand column is the list price and the discount above has closed - both dates are the vendor’s own, and neither depends on us returning to this page. A buyer who signed in September pays $2.50 a month until March and $27 a month after that.
Xero questions, answered
- Does Xero have a free plan or free trial?
- Xero has no free plan. A free trial is available: 30 days, or 90% off for six months for new US customers who buy by 30 September 2026.
- Can I self-host Xero?
- No. Xero is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 19 August 2026.
What this profile is based on
Nobody here has used Xero. This profile is desk research: prices read from the pages cited below, on the dates shown , from one primary source , with 2 captures taken by us . How we research a profile.
Desk research from Xero's own pricing and pricing-update pages, read on 19 August 2026 and re-read on 20 August, through a United States egress. The plan prices here are the ones in force before the rise Xero has published for 1 October 2026, and every plan row carries its post-October figure, so this record reads correctly on both sides of that date. Nobody here has kept books in Xero, and bank-feed coverage was not tested - which is the thing Xero is usually bought for outside the United States. The October price rise is the vendor's own published figure, not a projection.
Where Xero appears on this site
- Price guide What a SaaS Affiliate Programme Reveals listed as related
- Another profile Akaunting names it as a competitor
- Another profile FreshBooks names it as a competitor
- Another profile Wave names it as a competitor
- Another profile Zoho Books names it as a competitor
Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.
Provenance and freshness
Individually sourced claims
-
Early is $25 a month, Growing $55 and Established $90, with unlimited users on every plan
Xero pricing plans ↗ · checked
-
US prices rise on 1 October 2026 - Early from $25 to $27, Growing from $55 to $59 and Established from $90 to $97 - for new and existing subscribers, with the multi-organisation discount phased out from the same date
Xero pricing update ↗ · checked
-
Between the dates we read it and 30 September 2026 at 11:59pm UTC, Xero offered new US customers 90% off for six months - Early at $2.50 a month, Growing $5.50 and Established $9 - under code DC90626308US, for one organisation, excluding add-ons, usage and payment fees
Xero pricing plans, offer terms ↗ · checked
-
The plan prices recorded on this profile were read on 20 August 2026, before that rise took effect
Xero pricing plans ↗ · checked
-
Early is limited to 20 invoices and 5 bills a month
Xero pricing plans ↗ · checked
-
Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto, is $36 a month plus $6 per employee or contractor
What has changed
-
August 2026
- Re-read both dated facts, unchanged: the 90%-off offer still runs to 30 September 2026 at 11:59pm UTC, and the rise to $27, $59 and $97 still takes effect on 1 October 2026
- Moved both out of timeLimited and into claims. The offer is now a past-tense-safe observation; the price rise never belonged there, because it dates a current price rather than expiring a claim
- Recorded explicitly that the plan prices on this profile predate the October rise, so a reader arriving later knows which side of it they are on
-
August 2026
- Recorded the price rise Xero has published for 1 October 2026 - Early $27, Growing $59, Established $97 - and dated the current figures accordingly
- Recorded the 90%-off-for-six-months offer with the vendor's own 30 September 2026 deadline
- Added Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto, at $36 a month plus $6 an employee
- Recorded unlimited users explicitly on every plan
-
August 2026
- Pricing and invoice caps verified
- Added plan picker and verdicts
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Xero pricing plans - checked 19 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email contact@everyany.one and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.