GitHub logo

GitHub Pricing

Facts verified AUGUST 2026

GitHub pricing starts at $4 a month, which is $48 over twelve months. There is a free plan, and a trial on the paid tiers: 30 days on Enterprise.

See GitHub pricing ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 9 August 2026.

GitHub pricing page, showing the published plans and prices recorded on this page
The GitHub pricing page as captured on 9 August 2026. Captured from a US vantage point, so the currency matches the figures recorded here.

GitHub pricing at a glance

GitHub pricing facts, verified August 2026
Entry price Free for unlimited public and private repositories; Team $4 per user/month
Smallest invoice $4 a month, or $48 a year
How that is reached Team at $4 a month
Seat minimum None on the entry plan
Free plan Yes
Free trial 30 days on Enterprise
How it charges freemium
Prices read from The vendor's own pricing page
Last checked 9 August 2026

Every GitHub plan and what it costs

Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 9 August 2026. Charged as freemium. Free trial: 30 days on Enterprise.

GitHub plans and prices, verified 9 August 2026
Plan Price Billing What it is
Free $0 per month per user - Unlimited public and private repos, 2,000 Actions minutes per month
Team $4 per month per user - Protected branches, code owners, 3,000 Actions minutes per month
Enterprise $21 per month per user - SAML SSO, audit log, GitHub Advanced Security available
Actions overage Add-on $0.008 per minute per usage Standard Linux runners; other runner types cost more
Storage overage Add-on $0.25 per GB per usage Packages and Actions artifacts beyond the included allowance

What GitHub actually costs over a year

A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.

GitHub annual cost by plan
PlanQuotedMonthlyOver 12 months
Teamper userper month$4$48
Enterpriseper userper month$21$252

Cancelling GitHub, and getting money back

Read from the published GitHub terms on 18 September 2026. These are the terms, not legal advice: consumer law where you live may give you rights the terms do not mention.

GitHub refund and cancellation terms, verified 18 September 2026
Refund windowNone published
When you cancelEither side can end the agreement without cause on 30 days' notice, but a subscription licence still runs to the end of its term. Volume billing is paid in full up front.
Changing mid-termAmounts payable are non-refundable, the exceptions being a product warranty claim, a third-party infringement claim, or GitHub withdrawing a product from a jurisdiction, where prepaid unused fees are reimbursed.
Your data afterwardsAfter termination you have 90 days to migrate repository data, during which the products may not be used in production.

GitHub customer terms ↗ · read 18 September 2026

GitHub pricing over time

Read from 15 archived captures of the vendor's pricing page , spanning June 2014 to September 2026. Every figure below links to the capture it came from, so you can check it against the page as it stood on the day.

  • Team changed 2 times between 10 June 2016 and 1 September 2026, from $25 to $4 per user.
  • Enterprise has been published at $21 per user in every capture we read, from 10 June 2016 to 1 September 2026.

Team

Archived prices for the GitHub Team plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$25 Not stated 10 June 2016 Single capture Archive
$9 per user 1 November 2017 1 May 2019 Archive
$4 per user 1 November 2020 1 September 2026 Archive
  • ↔ $25 to $9, between 10 June 2016 and 1 November 2017. One capture quotes per user and the other states no unit, so we cannot confirm the two figures are on the same basis and no percentage is stated. before / after
  • ↓ $9 to $4, between 1 May 2019 and 1 November 2020 (-55.6%). before / after

Enterprise

Archived prices for the GitHub Enterprise plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$21 per user 10 June 2016 1 September 2026 Archive
1 archived capture with no price we could read

The capture exists, but the figures on it could not be extracted - usually a page that renders prices in JavaScript, or a currency selector the archive did not record. Listed rather than dropped, because a gap in a price history reads as "nothing changed" and these are not that.

  • 5 June 2014 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture

Compiled 18 September 2026 from the Internet Archive Wayback Machine. Plan names were matched against the archived page text and the first currency-anchored figure within 160 characters was recorded, rejecting any figure with a competing plan name standing between it and the name it was matched to. The currency and the unit were read from each capture rather than assumed: captures served in a currency other than $, and captures where no plan name sat beside a figure, are listed as unread rather than dropped. Archived pages show the price as served to the archive's crawler, which may differ by region from the price you are shown.

GitHub pricing against its competitors

Compared on the smallest invoice each vendor will accept, not on the advertised per-seat rate. Where a product has a seat minimum, the figure below is the minimum times the rate, because that is the cheque you would actually write.

Entry price for GitHub and its competitors, verified 9 August 2026
ProductCheapest paid entryFree planAgainst GitHub
GitHub$4 a monthYesThis product
GitLab$29 a monthYes+$25 a month (+625%)

Which GitHub plan should you buy?

Recommended GitHub plan by situation
Your situationRecommendedWhy
You are an individual or small team, public or privateFreeUnlimited public and private repositories with unlimited collaborators and 2,000 Actions minutes. The most generous free tier in this category.
You need protected branches and code ownersTeam$4 per user a month. Cheap, and the usual reason to leave Free is review enforcement.
You need SAML SSO and audit logsEnterprise$21 per user. A large step, driven by identity and compliance requirements.
Your CI runs constantlyWatch Actions minutesOverage is $0.008 per minute on standard Linux runners and more on others. This is where GitHub bills grow unnoticed.
You must self-host for complianceConsider GitLab insteadGitLab can be self-hosted at every tier; GitHub's equivalent is enterprise-only.

The free tier is the story

Unlimited private repositories with unlimited collaborators, plus 2,000 Actions minutes a month, at no cost. For most small teams that is the whole product. The paid tiers exist for organisations that need enforcement: protected branches, required reviewers, code owners and, at Enterprise, SSO and audit logs.

Where the bill actually comes from

Seats are cheap. Compute is not. Actions bills per minute beyond the included allowance, and rates differ sharply by runner: Linux is the cheapest, Windows costs more, macOS considerably more again. A test matrix that fans out across operating systems on every push can cost more per month than the entire team’s licences. Set spending limits before you need them, not after.

GitHub or GitLab?

Choose GitHub when collaboration and ecosystem matter most, which is nearly always for teams that work with outside contributors or hire regularly. Choose GitLab when you want a complete DevOps pipeline in one product, or when self-hosting is a requirement rather than a preference. The gap on core Git workflow is small; the gap on network effects is not.

Copilot is a separate purchase

GitHub Copilot is licensed on its own, not bundled into Team or Enterprise. If AI assistance is part of the reason you are evaluating GitHub, price it as an additional per-seat cost rather than assuming the platform tier includes it.

GitHub questions, answered

Does GitHub have a free plan or free trial?
GitHub has a free plan. A free trial is available: 30 days on Enterprise.
Can I self-host GitHub?
Yes. GitHub can be run on your own infrastructure, so the data stays under your control.
Check GitHub pricing at source ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 9 August 2026.

What this profile is based on

Nobody here has used GitHub. This profile is desk research: prices read from the pages cited below, on the dates shown , from one primary source , with 2 captures taken by us . How we research a profile.

Where GitHub appears on this site

  • Another profile Bitbucket names it as a competitor
  • Another profile GitLab names it as a competitor

Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.

Provenance and freshness

What has changed

  1. August 2026

    • Per-user pricing and Actions overage rates verified
    • Added plan picker and verdicts

Sources & verification

Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.

  1. GitHub pricing - checked 9 August 2026
Reviewed by
- Founder & Editor, EveryAny.One
Last verified
Last updated

Spotted something out of date? Email contact@everyany.one and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.

Price Watch

Follow GitHub's price

You get the weekly email of which software changed its price now, and we record that you follow GitHub, so an alert for this product alone reaches you once those alerts launch. No sponsored placements. Unsubscribe in one click.