Shopify logo

Shopify Pricing

Facts verified AUGUST 2026

Shopify pricing starts at $29 a month, which is $348 over twelve months. There is no free plan, but there is a trial: 3 days free, then $1/month for 3 months.

See Shopify pricing ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 9 August 2026.

Shopify pricing page, showing the published plans and prices recorded on this page
The Shopify pricing page as captured on 9 August 2026. Captured from a US vantage point, so the currency matches the figures recorded here.

Shopify pricing at a glance

Shopify pricing facts, verified August 2026
Entry price From $29/month (Basic, billed yearly) or $39 monthly
Smallest invoice $29 a month, or $348 a year
How that is reached Basic at $29 a month
Seat minimum None on the entry plan
Free plan No
Free trial 3 days free, then $1/month for 3 months
How it charges subscription
Prices read from The vendor's own pricing page
Last checked 9 August 2026

Every Shopify plan and what it costs

Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 9 August 2026. Charged as subscription. Free trial: 3 days free, then $1/month for 3 months.

Shopify plans and prices, verified 9 August 2026
Plan Price Billing What it is
Basic $29 per month Billed yearly, or $39 paying monthly. Card rates from 2.9% + 30 cents
Grow $89 per month Billed yearly, or $105 paying monthly. Card rates from 2.7% + 30 cents
Advanced $359 per month Billed yearly, or $399 paying monthly. Card rates from 2.5% + 30 cents
Plus From $2,300 per month Enterprise tier. Card rates from 2.25% + 30 cents
POS Pro Add-on $89 per month Add-on per retail location

What Shopify costs beyond the advertised price

Each of these is a figure you can check on the vendor's own page. The arithmetic is shown so you can redo it rather than take our word for it.

  1. Charged on top of a plan$1,068 a year

    POS Pro is charged on top of a plan rather than instead of one: $89 a month, which is $1,068 a year on top of whichever tier you hold.

    Working$89 a month x 12 = $1,068 a year, added to a tier price rather than replacing it.

    Computed from the plan table on Shopify pricing , read 9 August 2026

What Shopify actually costs over a year

A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.

Shopify annual cost by plan
PlanQuotedMonthlyOver 12 months
Basicper month$29$348
Growper month$89$1,068
Advancedper month$359$4,308
Plusper month$2,300$27,600
POS Pro add-onper month$89$1,068

Cancelling Shopify, and getting money back

Read from the published Shopify terms on 18 September 2026. These are the terms, not legal advice: consumer law where you live may give you rights the terms do not mention.

Shopify refund and cancellation terms, verified 18 September 2026
Refund windowNone published
When you cancelPlans are described as generally non-refundable under section 5.10 of the terms, including on cancellation and deactivation.
Changing mid-termA mid-cycle downgrade gives account credit against future invoices rather than a refund, and the current plan's features stay until the billing cycle ends. Support reviews refund requests case by case within its own time windows.

Shopify help centre, refund policy for plans ↗ · read 18 September 2026

Shopify pricing over time

Read from 8 archived captures of the vendor's pricing page , spanning November 2011 to September 2026. Every figure below links to the capture it came from, so you can check it against the page as it stood on the day.

  • Basic changed 2 times between 1 September 2015 and 1 September 2026, from $29 to $29.
  • Plus changed once between 3 February 2023 and 1 September 2026, from $2,000 to $2,300, up 15% overall.

Basic

Archived prices for the Shopify Basic plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$29 Not stated 1 September 2015 1 May 2021 Archive
$39 Not stated 3 February 2023 Single capture Archive
$29 Not stated 2 December 2024 1 September 2026 Archive
  • ↑ $29 to $39, between 1 May 2021 and 3 February 2023 (+34.5%). before / after
  • ↓ $39 to $29, between 3 February 2023 and 2 December 2024 (-25.6%). before / after

Plus

Archived prices for the Shopify Plus plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$2,000 Not stated 3 February 2023 Single capture Archive
$2,300 Not stated 1 September 2026 Single capture Archive
  • ↑ $2,000 to $2,300, between 3 February 2023 and 1 September 2026 (+15%). before / after
1 archived capture with no price we could read

The capture exists, but the figures on it could not be extracted - usually a page that renders prices in JavaScript, or a currency selector the archive did not record. Listed rather than dropped, because a gap in a price history reads as "nothing changed" and these are not that.

  • 2 November 2011 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture

Compiled 18 September 2026 from the Internet Archive Wayback Machine. Plan names were matched against the archived page text and the first currency-anchored figure within 160 characters was recorded, rejecting any figure with a competing plan name standing between it and the name it was matched to. The currency and the unit were read from each capture rather than assumed: captures served in a currency other than $, and captures where no plan name sat beside a figure, are listed as unread rather than dropped. 2 plan series were read from these captures and then discarded, because the most recent capture did not reproduce the price we verified on the live page. Only plans the extraction demonstrably reads correctly are published here. Archived pages show the price as served to the archive's crawler, which may differ by region from the price you are shown.

Shopify pricing against its competitors

Compared on the smallest invoice each vendor will accept, not on the advertised per-seat rate. Where a product has a seat minimum, the figure below is the minimum times the rate, because that is the cheque you would actually write.

Entry price for Shopify and its competitors, verified 9 August 2026
ProductCheapest paid entryFree planAgainst Shopify
WooCommerce$25 a monthYes−$4 a month (−14%)
Shopify$29 a monthNoThis product

Which Shopify plan should you buy?

Recommended Shopify plan by situation
Your situationRecommendedWhy
You are launching a storeBasic$29 billed yearly, or $39 monthly, with card rates from 2.9% + 30 cents. The processing rate matters as much as the plan fee.
You are doing meaningful volumeGrow$89 billed yearly, and card rates drop to 2.7%, which can offset the increase by itself.
Your card volume is highCompare plan fee against processing savingsAdvanced at $359 cuts rates to 2.5%. Work out the crossover from your own monthly card volume rather than the feature list.
You sell in person as well as onlineAdd POS Pro$89 per retail location, on top of your plan.
You need custom checkout logicPlus, or reconsiderCheckout customisation is largely gated to Plus from $2,300 a month. This surprises people planning bespoke flows.
Your shop is a small part of a content siteConsider WooCommerce insteadWordPress plus Woo fits a content-led site better, and takes no revenue share.

The subscription is the small number

A merchant on Basic at $29 a month who processes $50,000 pays roughly $1,450 in card fees over the same period. Add three or four apps at $20 to $50 each and the platform fee is comfortably the smallest line on the invoice. When comparing Shopify against alternatives, compare card rates and app costs first; the headline plan price rarely decides anything.

Why the plans are really tiered

Moving from Basic to Grow to Advanced buys a lower card rate as much as it buys features: 2.9% to 2.7% to 2.5%, plus 30 cents per transaction. There is a crossover volume at which the higher subscription pays for itself purely on processing. Work out where that point is for your revenue rather than upgrading on feature envy.

The transaction fee that catches people

If you use an external payment gateway instead of Shopify Payments, Shopify charges an additional transaction fee on top of your gateway’s own cut. In markets where Shopify Payments is unavailable, this is an unavoidable cost that merchants frequently discover after launching.

Where Shopify is the wrong tool

If the shop is a small part of a content-led site, a hosted store is overkill and a lighter commerce plug-in on your existing CMS will serve better. If you need genuinely bespoke checkout logic, that capability lives on Plus at a very different price point. And if you sell purely digital products, several cheaper platforms handle licensing and delivery more gracefully.

Shopify questions, answered

Does Shopify have a free plan or free trial?
Shopify has no free plan. A free trial is available: 3 days free, then $1/month for 3 months.
Can I self-host Shopify?
No. Shopify is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
Check Shopify pricing at source ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 9 August 2026.

What this profile is based on

Nobody here has used Shopify. This profile is desk research: prices read from the pages cited below, on the dates shown , from one primary source , with 2 captures taken by us . How we research a profile.

Where Shopify appears on this site

Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.

Provenance and freshness

What has changed

  1. August 2026

    • Plan pricing and card processing rates verified, annual and monthly
    • Added plan picker and verdicts

Sources & verification

Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.

  1. Shopify pricing - checked 9 August 2026
Reviewed by
- Founder & Editor, EveryAny.One
Last verified
Last updated

Spotted something out of date? Email contact@everyany.one and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.

Price Watch

Follow Shopify's price

You get the weekly email of which software changed its price now, and we record that you follow Shopify, so an alert for this product alone reaches you once those alerts launch. No sponsored placements. Unsubscribe in one click.