Okta logo

Okta Pricing

Facts verified AUGUST 2026

Okta pricing starts at $6 a month, which is $72 over twelve months. There is no free plan, but there is a trial: 30 days.

See Okta pricing ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 9 August 2026.

Okta pricing page, showing the published plans and prices recorded on this page
The Okta pricing page as captured on 9 August 2026. Captured from a US vantage point, so the currency matches the figures recorded here.

Okta pricing at a glance

Okta pricing facts, verified August 2026
Entry price Starter from $6 per user/month, subject to annual contract minimums
Smallest invoice $6 a month, or $72 a year
How that is reached Starter at $6 a month
Seat minimum None on the entry plan
Free plan No
Free trial 30 days
How it charges subscription
Prices read from The vendor's own pricing page
Last checked 9 August 2026

Every Okta plan and what it costs

Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 9 August 2026. Charged as subscription. Free trial: 30 days.

Okta plans and prices, verified 9 August 2026
Plan Price Billing What it is
Starter $6 per month per user - Single sign-on, MFA, Universal Directory and 5 Workflows
Core Essentials $14 per month per user - Middle option for teams not needing advanced security and compliance
Essentials $17 per month per user - Adds Adaptive MFA, Privileged Access, Lifecycle Management and Access Governance
Professional Inquire for pricing Negotiated Enterprise capabilities quoted per organisation

What Okta actually costs over a year

A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.

Okta annual cost by plan
PlanQuotedMonthlyOver 12 months
Starterper userper month$6$72
Core Essentialsper userper month$14$168
Essentialsper userper month$17$204

Okta pricing over time

Read from 15 archived captures of the vendor's pricing page , spanning November 2015 to September 2026. Every figure below links to the capture it came from, so you can check it against the page as it stood on the day.

  • Essentials changed 2 times between 2 July 2023 and 9 September 2026, from $23 to $17 per user.
  • Starter changed once between 10 May 2022 and 9 September 2026, from $4 per user to $6 per user, up 50% overall.
  • Core Essentials has been published at $14 per user in every capture we read, from 9 September 2025 to 9 September 2026.

Essentials

Archived prices for the Okta Essentials plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$23 Not stated 2 July 2023 Single capture Archive
$35 Not stated 17 September 2024 Single capture Archive
$17 per user 9 September 2025 9 September 2026 Archive
  • ↑ $23 to $35, between 2 July 2023 and 17 September 2024 (+52.2%). before / after
  • ↔ $35 to $17, between 17 September 2024 and 9 September 2025. One capture quotes per user and the other states no unit, so we cannot confirm the two figures are on the same basis and no percentage is stated. before / after

Starter

Archived prices for the Okta Starter plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$4 per user 10 May 2022 17 September 2024 Archive
$6 per user 9 September 2025 9 September 2026 Archive
  • ↑ $4 to $6, between 17 September 2024 and 9 September 2025 (+50%). before / after

Core Essentials

Archived prices for the Okta Core Essentials plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$14 per user 9 September 2025 9 September 2026 Archive
4 archived captures with no price we could read

The capture exists, but the figures on it could not be extracted - usually a page that renders prices in JavaScript, or a currency selector the archive did not record. Listed rather than dropped, because a gap in a price history reads as "nothing changed" and these are not that.

  • 17 November 2015 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
  • 5 July 2018 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
  • 3 April 2020 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
  • 29 April 2021 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture

Compiled 18 September 2026 from the Internet Archive Wayback Machine. Plan names were matched against the archived page text and the first currency-anchored figure within 160 characters was recorded, rejecting any figure with a competing plan name standing between it and the name it was matched to. The currency and the unit were read from each capture rather than assumed: captures served in a currency other than $, and captures where no plan name sat beside a figure, are listed as unread rather than dropped. Archived pages show the price as served to the archive's crawler, which may differ by region from the price you are shown.

Which Okta plan should you buy?

Recommended Okta plan by situation
Your situationRecommendedWhy
You need SSO and MFA across many SaaS applicationsStarter$6 per user, subject to annual contract minimums that are not published.
You want a middle option without advanced governanceCore Essentials$14 per user.
You need adaptive MFA, lifecycle management and access governanceEssentials$17 per user, and the tier where joiner-mover-leaver automation actually lives.
You are already on Microsoft 365 or Google WorkspaceCheck Entra ID or Google firstBoth include identity you already pay for. Okta's case is being vendor-neutral, which only matters if your estate is mixed.
You are a small teamAsk about the contract minimum before anything elseThe per-user price is published but the annual minimum is not, and it is what excludes small organisations.

The entry price is not the entry cost

Starter is $6 per user per month, but Okta applies annual contract minimums, so a very small organisation cannot simply buy twenty seats and stop. Ask what the minimum is for your configuration before modelling per-user cost, because below a certain headcount the effective rate is considerably higher than the list price implies.

Starter, Core Essentials or Essentials?

Starter covers single sign-on, MFA and the directory. That is useful and it is not why most people buy Okta. Lifecycle Management, which provisions and deprovisions accounts automatically as people join, move and leave, sits at Essentials ($17). Since that automation is usually the business case, budget Essentials and treat Starter as the floor.

Core Essentials at $14 exists for organisations that want more than Starter without the full governance and security set.

The Entra ID question

If your organisation runs Microsoft 365, you already have an identity provider, and Entra ID handles single sign-on and conditional access competently. Okta earns its place when the estate is genuinely heterogeneous, when you want identity that does not favour one vendor, or when Lifecycle Management across many non-Microsoft applications is the requirement.

Why identity is worth doing properly

The unglamorous case: most access incidents are not sophisticated attacks but accounts that were never switched off. Automated deprovisioning tied to the HR system closes that gap on the day someone leaves rather than whenever IT gets to the ticket. That is the outcome to price against, not the login screen.

Okta questions, answered

Does Okta have a free plan or free trial?
Okta has no free plan. A free trial is available: 30 days.
Can I self-host Okta?
No. Okta is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
Check Okta pricing at source ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 9 August 2026.

What this profile is based on

Nobody here has used Okta. This profile is desk research: prices read from the pages cited below, on the dates shown , from one primary source , with 2 captures taken by us . How we research a profile.

Where Okta appears on this site

Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.

Provenance and freshness

What has changed

  1. August 2026

    • Per-user pricing verified; contract minimums remain unpublished
    • Added plan picker and verdicts

Sources & verification

Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.

  1. Okta pricing - checked 9 August 2026
Reviewed by
- Founder & Editor, EveryAny.One
Last verified
Last updated

Spotted something out of date? Email contact@everyany.one and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.

Price Watch

Follow Okta's price

You get the weekly email of which software changed its price now, and we record that you follow Okta, so an alert for this product alone reaches you once those alerts launch. No sponsored placements. Unsubscribe in one click.