Discord Pricing
- Productivity pricing
- $2.99/mo at the smallest
- Free plan
Discord pricing starts at $2.99 a month, which is $35.88 over twelve months. There is a free plan.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 9 August 2026.
Discord pricing at a glance
| Entry price | Free; Nitro Basic $2.99/month, Nitro $9.99/month |
|---|---|
| Smallest invoice | $2.99 a month, or $35.88 a year |
| How that is reached | Nitro Basic at $2.99 a month |
| Seat minimum | None on the entry plan |
| Free plan | Yes |
| Free trial | No trial offered |
| How it charges | freemium |
| Prices read from | The vendor's own pricing page |
| Last checked | 9 August 2026 |
Every Discord plan and what it costs
Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 9 August 2026. Charged as freemium. No free trial is offered.
| Plan | Price | Billing | What it is |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | per month | Unlimited servers, channels, messages and voice. No seat charges |
| Nitro Basic | $2.99 | per month | 50 MB uploads, custom emoji anywhere, custom app icons |
| Nitro | $9.99 | per month | 500 MB uploads, custom profiles, HD streaming, Xbox Game Pass offer |
| Server Boosts Add-on | Varies | per month | Purchased per server to raise audio quality and upload limits |
What Discord actually costs over a year
A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.
| Plan | Quoted | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nitro Basic | per month | $2.99 | $35.88 |
| Nitro | per month | $9.99 | $119.88 |
Discord pricing over time
Read from 8 archived captures of the vendor's pricing page , spanning May 2020 to September 2026. Every figure below links to the capture it came from, so you can check it against the page as it stood on the day.
Nitro Basic
| Published price | Charged | Seen from | Last seen | Capture |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $2.99 | Not stated | 1 September 2026 | Single capture | Archive |
7 archived captures with no price we could read
The capture exists, but the figures on it could not be extracted - usually a page that renders prices in JavaScript, or a currency selector the archive did not record. Listed rather than dropped, because a gap in a price history reads as "nothing changed" and these are not that.
- 4 May 2020 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
- 3 March 2021 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
- 1 December 2021 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
- 5 July 2023 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
- 1 May 2024 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
- 1 February 2025 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
- 1 December 2025 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
Compiled 18 September 2026 from the Internet Archive Wayback Machine. Plan names were matched against the archived page text and the first currency-anchored figure within 160 characters was recorded, rejecting any figure with a competing plan name standing between it and the name it was matched to. The currency and the unit were read from each capture rather than assumed: captures served in a currency other than $, and captures where no plan name sat beside a figure, are listed as unread rather than dropped. 1 plan series was read from these captures and then discarded, because the most recent capture did not reproduce the price we verified on the live page. Only plans the extraction demonstrably reads correctly are published here. Archived pages show the price as served to the archive's crawler, which may differ by region from the price you are shown.
Discord pricing against its competitors
Compared on the smallest invoice each vendor will accept, not on the advertised per-seat rate. Where a product has a seat minimum, the figure below is the minimum times the rate, because that is the cheque you would actually write.
| Product | Cheapest paid entry | Free plan | Against Discord |
|---|---|---|---|
| Discord | $2.99 a month | Yes | This product |
| Microsoft Teams | $4 a month | Yes | +$1.01 a month (+34%) |
| Slack | $8.75 a month | Yes | +$5.76 a month (+193%) |
Which Discord plan should you buy?
| Your situation | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You are running any kind of community | Free | Unlimited servers, messages, voice and history at no cost, with no per-user charge however large it grows. You do not need to pay Discord to run a community well. |
| You want larger uploads and custom emoji everywhere | Nitro Basic | $2.99 a month for 50 MB uploads. Personal convenience, not a community feature. |
| You stream and share files heavily | Nitro | $9.99 for 500 MB uploads and HD streaming, plus a Game Pass offer. |
| You want better audio quality for everyone in a server | Server Boosts | Bought per server rather than per person, which is the only server-level upgrade. |
| You need retention policies, eDiscovery or provisioning | Do not use Discord | None of it exists at any price. Use Slack or Microsoft Teams for company comms. |
Free is the product, Nitro is merchandise
Discord does not gate communication. Unlimited servers, channels, messages, voice minutes and searchable history cost nothing, with no per-user charge however large the community grows. Compare that with Slack, whose free tier hides history after 90 days.
Nitro Basic at $2.99 a month and Nitro at $9.99 buy upload limits (50 MB and 500 MB), custom emoji and profiles, HD streaming and a Game Pass offer. These are personal cosmetic and convenience perks, not business features. Server Boosts are bought per server to raise audio quality and upload caps for everyone in it.
The practical consequence: you never need to pay Discord to run a community well, and paying does not make it enterprise-ready.
Why communities choose it anyway
Persistent voice channels. On Slack you schedule a call; on Discord people sit in a channel and others join. For study groups, game communities, open-source projects and cohort-based courses that ambient presence is the product, and it is the one thing business tools consistently fail to copy.
Why businesses should not
Discord has no retention policy controls, no eDiscovery, no SCIM provisioning, no data residency options and no meaningful admin governance. If your organisation has a legal obligation to produce messages, or a requirement to deprovision a leaver’s access centrally, Discord cannot satisfy it.
Use it to talk to your users. Use Slack or Microsoft Teams to run your company.
Discord questions, answered
- Does Discord have a free plan or free trial?
- Discord has a free plan. No free trial is offered.
- Can I self-host Discord?
- No. Discord is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 9 August 2026.
What this profile is based on
Nobody here has used Discord. This profile is desk research: prices read from the pages cited below, on the dates shown , from one primary source , with 2 captures taken by us . How we research a profile.
Where Discord appears on this site
- Another profile Slack names it as a competitor
Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.
Provenance and freshness
What has changed
-
August 2026
- Nitro pricing verified
- Added plan picker and verdicts
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Discord Nitro pricing - checked 9 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email contact@everyany.one and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.